A Tribute to Hergé: the Insanely Talented Creator of Tintin

As a little girl I loved comic books and the adventures of Tintin will always remain my all-time favorite. I still feel delighted when I remember myself as a 10-year-old girl who gets some cookies from her granny and runs into her room to dive into the adventures of Tintin, Captain Haddock and the silly  Dupond et Dupont (Thompson and Thompson in English). I collected those old comic books, and brought them back home , read them and carefully put them in my little wooden book-shelf, one by one.  I was lucky to learn about Tintin through my parents, otherwise, kids of my generation rarely went through old comic books. Yes, I played my fair share of Play Station, but no silly game in the world can make me feel as delighted as when I was reading a Tintin story.

Thanks for Building my Imagination Monsieur Hergé!

Hergé  whose real name was Georges Prosper Remi, was the  genius behind all those lovely characters in Tintin stories. Him and his magic pen drew adventure after adventure, each with their unique characteristics , charming Belgian wit and memorable story lines.

In “the Castafiore Emerald” , the only woman of these adventures Bianca Castafiore, plays the main role. Her attempts to flirt with Captain Haddock whom rather die than to flirt with her (as a kid I had no idea Captain Haddock was gay, that makes the whole thing even funnier), creates the funniest and most delightful situations.

In the “ the Adventures of Tintin and Red Rackham’s Treasure” , the almost deaf Professor Calculus  ( Hergé drawing of Calculus was inspired by scientist Auguste Piccard’s appearance), throws away all the booze in Captain Haddock’s ship in order to put every piece of his machine in the liqueur boxes and bring them to the voyage in search of the treasure. Haddock’s reaction when he finds out about this, still makes me fall of a chair from laughing so hard, as it did when I was a little girl.

Commercialization of Tintin and its Impact on Monsieur Hergé

As most fans of Tintin comics probably know, Hergé based the character of Tintin on himself. He started drawing and creating the series with love and enthusiasm but ended up getting exhausted of keeping the story going, even when he felt that he was actually done with it.

I can sympathize with him, many authors or artists whose work becomes successful probably go through the same phase (I wonder if J.K Rowling feels the same about Harry Potter stories). In a letter to his wife written in 1947, Hergé complains of the pressure he is under to continue with Tintin adventures , a pressure he describes as something that ” exhausts him more and more every day” .

It is all about Passion…

Anyway, what is important is the fact that he started drawing Tintin and making all those wonderful stories out of that , with passion . And what you create with passion is definitely going to be successful. Your audience will always catch your passion and become excited by it.

All I want to say that I owe my wild imagination to le seul et l’unique Monsieur Hergé. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

